ILOCOS FOCUS

6 thoughts on “ILOCOS FOCUS”

  1. Sorry to hear about your focus problem. What a bummer after that much travel. I hope you were able to acquire a new cable. Good luck on the competition. I think I got that right.

  2. The real visual artists are those that create images through their own input. I remember the wonderful permutations one gets by tweaking f-stop, shutter speed… those were the days! You can do it!

  3. Good luck in the competition!

    From personal experience, I understand what a pain it is when your camera goes bulok on a trip. On a 3-week trip to New Mexico, my Canon had a problem on my first shot off the plane. I took a photo of a nice Native American sculpture in the Albuquerque airport. When I checked the image, it was so fuzzy I could not tell what it was….just a huge blur. I took a few more, and it was the same thing.

    Luckily, we arrived Saturday afternoon and were not going anywhere until Sunday. I don’t know about PI, but in the U.S., Sunday is when all the newspapers are full of advertising inserts for sales during the week.

    So Sunday morning I got up early and read all the electronics ads to see what cameras were on sale. I didn’t want to buy a “good” one because I felt I could do better buying from the Internet. (When I was young, I had a part time job selling cameras, so I learned all about them and was able to buy a Minolta “semi-professional” at a huge discount because the camera reps hoped you would then suggest what you owned to customers.)

    My Canon had a lot of user controls, including shutter or aperture priority or manual control, under/over exposure, white balance, etc. Low megapixel (2) but I don’t enlarge over 8×12 so I was OK with that. Plus, it had a viewfinder, which few digital cameras have these days except at very top models.

    I found a Kodak Easyshare that was on “clearance.” It had 8 megapixels and 5x optical zoom (vs. 3x in my Canon). Not as many options to control the camera as my Canon, but it was just $90, so I bought it. Hated it had no viewfinder because trying to see the screen when it’s so bright was hard and I often had to “guess” and then view the image.

    When I got back home, I did a Google search of my camera problem and got some hits. Turns out that Canon had outsourced a sensor and they often went bad in high humidity, which is what we have in Florida. Even if the camera was out of warranty, they would replace the sensor. I e-mailed Canon that I had the camera and the problem, sending an image to show them. They told me to send it to them and they’d replace the sensor. I still use it today but bring the Kodak as backup.

    1. The same thing happened to me in Beijing. Imagine three weeks in a foreign land with a broken camera. To find a Canon service center is ordeal enough due to difficulty communicating with locals. And when I did found one the cost of repair is equivalent to a couple of locally made digicams. I thought about getting one of those China-made cams, it’s the picture that matters anyway. AND as they say, the best camera is the one that’s with you. But no, I got by with the misbehaving Canon. (I had the time to blog about it https://malate.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/error-99/)

      And yes, Sunday newspapers here are heavy with ad inserts as well. Thick as a brick.

      Salamat po!

Leave a Reply

