PADYAK MANILA: Recapturing This Exhausted City

15 thoughts on “PADYAK MANILA: Recapturing This Exhausted City”

  1. Some not-usually-photographed images of Manila. Kudos! How are you liking your new Canon? I shoot Canon, too – have, since my first Canon Rebel 8 years ago.

    1. Elmer, is Intramuros far from Quezon City? Am flying in next week and have a free day to shoot here. I get lost in your territory easily. πŸ˜€ Oh, and I love shooting from my hip as well. πŸ˜€

      1. Huwag mo naman akong takutin, sir. The word “traffic” triggers inexplicable panic in me. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Ano mas maganda shoot, Malate at night, Binondo Food Walk, or Intramuros? Or stay na lang ako sa hotel and mag FB? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      2. OK lahat, Binondo Food trip, eat every step of the way, especially in Ongpin’s Estero alley. Take home an Eng Bee Tin hopia too. NIght shooting sa Malate, in Mabini or M.H. del Pilar streets. The Red Light district is back on its feet with its ‘beautiful girls’ mind you. I suggest you shoot Intramuros early in the morning or late in the afternoon. Napakainit ngayon. And those are the times when light is very good for photography.

        Pls dont stay inside your airconditioned room. Go out out out. BTW Ok ang sunset sa baywalk these summer days. Check it out

  2. I am checking out Quiapo photo walks right now online (one blogger writes he was followed for his small camera). Am trying to see if there are planned groups as I presume it’s not good for a stranger to walk those streets alone (though I am used to it in other unfamiliar places, like Tawi-Tawi LOL). I will try to shoot sunset in Baywalk again. When am in Manila, I try to leave as soon as I can. I do want to appreciate the metropolis, though. Anyhow, if I get lost, will keep in touch. Sounds ironic, but I mean it. Thanks, mer. πŸ™‚

    1. Quiapo is a favorite spot for street photographers. I’m talking about the Quiapo of Plaza Miranda spot. Maybe that blogger is talking about the risky places in Quiapo i.e Carriedo, Arranque, San Miguel etc.? It’s not comfortable to shoot in those areas unless you’re a ninja. Of course you can always go with street togs in groups for safety. Will try to look a group for you if you want. Although I’m a member of FSP, I photowalk alone. I’m more relaxed operating alone. I understand your feeling vs. the metropolis. Manila stinks actually (the place reeks of urine.) Pero may pagasa pa naman siya. Just think urban adventure. If you want i’ll PM my number just in case. Very welcome Jojie. Pano ba kita matatanggihan

      1. Hahaha, thanks Elmer, appreciate the assistance. Like you, I also prefer operating alone, but in this case, the jungle is too “dense”. Sorry for delayed reply. Just got back from a road trip in the province. Btw, my sked was moved to May 16.

Leave a Reply

